September 17 – Honduran Teacher’s Day

Municipality of Trinidad de Copán

Trinidad de Copán is a municipality in the department of Copán in Honduras.

In the initial political division, Copán was part of the Department of Gracias. In 1906, the National Constituent Assembly reduced its territory by separating the municipalities that now constitute the Department of Ocotepeque, causing Copán to lose approximately one-third of its area.

On the El Porvenir hill, a strange object was shining, and when one of the residents picked it up, it turned out to be the Image of the Trinity. They then moved to that place and founded the town.

It became a municipality in 1822 when the Copán department belonged to the intendancy of the confines of Gracias a Dios. In 1836, the ejidos between Cerro Azul and Esquines were granted.

The First School: It was founded in 1838 and operated in a private house. The teachers of that time were Don Secundino Iriarte and Don Tranquilino Monroy, earning a salary of L.8.00. Don Sotero Orellana and Doña Teresa Rendón earned L.10.00 per month.


The municipality borders San Nicolás to the north, San José to the south, Naranjito to the east, and San Jerónimo and Dolores to the west.

It is located along the route of the western highway in the eastern part of the department, with its municipal seat on the right slope of Loma El Porvenir in a very rugged terrain.

The municipality of Trinidad is covered in its entirety by irregular relief, including the following mountains and valleys: The Cerro Azul mountain range, which, in its various branches, forms the heights of La Gloria, El Mecate Blanco, Agua Fría, Eramola, Lepaerita, Guajapa, Cerro Azul, and other larger elevations. There are flat areas such as Tepemechín, Planes de San Juan, and Mampa.


  • Trinidad de Copán (municipal seat)
  • Cerro Azul
  • La Cumbre
  • Lepaerita
  • Quebraditas
  • San Juan de Planes

Communication Routes

There are bridle paths that lead to agricultural and livestock activities bordering the municipalities of San José and San Nicolás de Copán. The road network has two access routes, one of which connects to the beautiful western highway, providing communication to Naranjito in the Department of Santa Bárbara.



Urban area produces: Coffee, Maize, Beans, Panela (sugar cane product), Dairy Products, Bread, Shoes, Passion Fruit, Beef, and Pork.

Cerro Azul produces: Petate (woven mat), Maize, Coffee, Beans, Panela.

Quebraditas produces: Maize, Beans, Coffee, Milk.

La Cumbre produces: Maize, Beans, Coffee, Dairy Products, Bread.

Lepaerita produces: Sheep Meat, Dairy Products, Milk.

Poultry Farm

It started as a small activity on the San Antonio poultry farm with 500 chickens three years ago.

Currently, there are about 45,000 chickens distributed in small farms throughout the community, with around 17 producers involved in this activity. This generates significant income and employment in the community.

Natural Resources


There is a variety of timber for construction and fruit trees, including pines, mahogany, cedar, oak, con, madread, mangoes, sapotes, suctes, avocados, and others.


There are cattle, pigs, and horses; in the mountains, there are wild animals such as deer, rabbits, agoutis, skunks, raccoons, wildcats, and some reptiles.

Natural Beauties

The Agua Fría hill is adorned with moss, pines, and lilies of different colors. There are natural lagoons in various places and elevated terrains with beautiful views.