Skip to content

Municipality of Yarula

The municipality of Yarula belongs to the Department of La Paz.

In the report of 1582 by the governor of the province, Alonso de Contreras, the indigenous town of Yarula and Marcala had twenty tribute-paying natives under the encomienda of Urban de Turcios. In the 1887 census, it appears as a municipality in the Marcala district within the jurisdiction of the Department of La Paz.

General Data of Yarula

Origin of its name: Indigenous in origin.

  • Territorial area: 85.40 km2
  • Population: 8,776 inhabitants (2012)
  • Date of creation: 1884
  • Patronal festival: February 2nd, day of the Virgin of Candelaria; and June 23rd to 25th, in honor of its patron Saint John the Baptist.
  • Villages and hamlets: 3 villages and 31 hamlets.
  • Altitude: 1730 meters above sea level.

Main Economic Activity

Cultivation of basic grains, coffee, and citrus fruits; cattle, horse, pig, and goat breeding; poultry farming.


  • Health: 2 CESAR.
  • Education: 33 primary education centers, 23 pre-primary education centers, and 2 secondary education centers.
  • Communication network: Accessible dirt road to the municipality center, telephone services from Hondutel, and mobile phone coverage.


Located in the westernmost part of the department, bordering the Intibucá department and the Republic of El Salvador.


  • North: municipalities of San Marcos de la Sierra and La Esperanza (both in Intibucá);
  • South: Republic of El Salvador;
  • East: municipality of Marcala;
  • West: municipality of Santa Elena.

Más Artículos