Actualidad :: Consulados :: Migrantes :: Turismo

Epoch Independent of Honduras

Escrito el: 18 de January de 2022 - Modificado: 18 January, 2022 - por: - en: History - Origin, Times and Periods, Historical Facts

  • Leer versión en Español
  • For nearly three centuries, Honduras was part of the Captaincy General of Guatemala, so its independence revolved around pro-independence events in the other provinces.

    After the occupation of Spain by the French, the first acts of insurrection in favor of the independence of Central America took place in Nicaragua, El Salvador and Guatemala (1811-1813).

    In Honduras, the Spanish would resort to perpetuity in power with the purpose of drowning the independence cause.

    From 1813 to 1820, there were no other notable events in Central America in relation to independence. It was until the beginning of 1821, when Mexico through the Plan of Iguala declared its total independence from Spain on February 24.

    This event accelerated the independence of Central America, which was consummated on September 15, 1821 with a declaration, which was written by José Cecilio del Valle.

    The euphoria of independence will affect very little, since in January 1822, at the initiative of the conservatives,and from Emperor Agustín de Iturbide, the united provinces of Central America joined the Mexican empire. However, this union was broken, until the fall of Iturbide himself in March 1823.

    In March 1824, a congress met in Guatemala and the Federal Republic of Central America was founded, made up of Guatemala, Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua, and Costa Rica. The new Republic had a short existence, and after several civil wars, it the Union on October 26, 1838, and the five states of the Republic became five independent states.

    Some of the Central American states tried several times to reconstitute the Federal Republic of Central America. But these attempts failed and cost the lives of several of its initiators.

    A last attempt was carried out, under the influence of Dr. Policarpo Bonilla, President of Honduras, a treaty with Nicaragua and El Salvador was used, according to which the three republics constitute a federation under the name of the Greater Republic of Central America.

    The three republics were concluded in states, and the sovereignty of the federation fell to a Diet composed of three members, one for each state, which had a meeting each year in the capital of the federal states.

    At the invitation of this Diet, the three states appointed a delegation that met as a Constituent Assembly in Managua, and established a Constitution, according to which terms the three states took the name of the United States of Central America, on November 1, 1898.

    This Constitution…which in the minds of those who had formed it meant a consolidation of the three federal states and a prompt reorganization of the great Republic of Central America, dreamed of by Francisco Morazán, had a sad end.

    The day after the Constituent Assembly met, a revolutionary movement, hostile to the new federation, took place in San Salvador, which resulted in a new administration in this state.

    His first step was to withdraw from the Union, and this separation caused the dissolution of the United States of Central America, since, following the example of El Salvador, the states of Honduras and Nicaragua resumed their sovereignty.

  • Leer versión en Español