September 17 – Honduran Teacher’s Day

Municipality of Santa Ana

It is a municipality in the department of Francisco Morazán, in the Republic of Honduras.

It is an ancient town closely linked to Ojojona, as it was part of that curacy, as stated in the ecclesiastical census of 1791. It was known as Santa Ana de Huía at that time. In the population census of 1887, it is already listed as a municipality. Then, in the political division of 1889, it became part of the Sabanagrande district.

General Information about Santa Ana

Origin of its name: In honor of its patron saint, Santa Ana de Huía.

  • Territorial area: 65.92 km2
  • Population: 11,124 inhabitants (2012)
  • Date of creation: 1887
  • Patron Saint Celebration: July 26th, in honor of Santa Ana.
  • Villages and hamlets: 5 villages and 32 hamlets.
  • Elevation: 1430 meters above sea level.
  • Climate: Rainy with a very dry winter.

Main Economic Activity

Cultivation of staple crops, coffee, fruits, and vegetables; raising of cattle, horses, and pigs; poultry farming.


  • Health: 1 CESAMO and 1 CESAR.
  • Education: 21 primary education centers, 11 pre-primary education centers, and 1 secondary education center.
  • Communication Network: Paved roads, Hondutel telephone service, mobile phone coverage.


Located at the Huía hill.


  • North: municipality of Distrito Central;
  • South: municipality of Sabanagrande;
  • East: municipality of San Buenaventura;
  • West: municipality of Ojojona.

Hydrography: Ojojona River

Tourist Attractions

  • The eco-tourism park «Los Encuentros».
  • The Ayasta Caves, an archaeological site with pre-Hispanic symbols and figures on the cave walls.
  • The Cueva de la Peña, located in the center of the town, believed to have served as an altar for the indigenous people.
  • The Cueva Ventana del Diablo, with legends about the presence of the devil in it.
  • Laguna del Pescado.
  • La Cruz de Chatarra.