List of Protected Areas and Parks of Honduras

  • Leer versión en Español
  • Honduras is located in the extreme north of the tropics. The interaction of geological formations with large-scale climatic expressions gives rise to a surprising variety of climatic conditions for a relatively small country.

    These different climatic conditions entail a great differentiation in species and, in the same way, allow the presence of different forest ecosystems that go from humid broadleaf forests, pine forests, cloud forests, to dry forests, among others.

    Table of Contents

    History of Protected Areas

    Historically, the process of creating protected areas in Honduras originated in 1952, with the declaration of the San Juancito Forest Reserve as the first protected area in the country (today La Tigra National Park).

    In 1958 Decree 13-58 was approved for the protection of the Mangroves of the Gulf of Fonseca. Then in 1961 the Guanaja Forest Reserve was declared at the municipal level through Decree 49-1961. In 1971, the State declared Lake Yojoa as a Multiple Use Area through Decree 71-71 and in 1978 the Port Royal Wildlife Refuge was decreed as protected at the municipal level.

    Subsequently, considering the imminent threat of the loss of biodiversity and priority natural resources such as water, a broad declaration of protected areas originated in the 1980s through Decree 87-87, among which 37 forest areas cloudy, the Río Plátano Biosphere Reserve and the Ruinas de Copán National Monument.

    General Environmental Law

    With the publication of the General Environmental Law in 1993, the creation of SINAPH was agreed, thus providing institutional protection to the set of legally protected areas.

    In 1991 the Department of Protected Areas and Wildlife (DAPVS) was created as a regulatory and administrative state body for protected areas, generating in 1994 the first Manual of Technical-Administrative Standards for Protected Areas in Honduras.

    In this period, new protected areas are created and the participation of organized civil society in alliances with the government sector is evidenced through the establishment of co-management agreements.

    Since 2000, the Punta Izopo National Park, the Cayos Cochinos Marine Natural Monument, the La Botija Multiple Use Area, the Honduran Emerald Hummingbird Species / Habitat Management Area, the Nombre de Dios National Park and the Marine National Park have been declared. Bay islands.


    National Parks

    1. Patuca
    2. Warunta
    3. Cusuco
    4. Celaque
    5. Sandy Bay-West End
    6. Meambar Blue
    7. Kruta
    8. Nice Peak
    9. Yoro Mountain
    10. Montecristo Trifinio
    11. Cerro Azul Copan
    12. Pijol Peak
    13. Sierra de Agalta
    14. The Tigra
    15. Capiro and Calentura
    16. Santa Barbara Mountain
    17. Comayagua Mountain
    18. Jeanette Kawas (Punta Sal)
    19. La Botija
    20. Punta Izopo
    21. Marino Guanaja
    22. Marine Gulf of Fonseca
    23. Marino Cayos Misquitos


    Biosphere Reserve

    1. Río Plátano
    2. Tawahka

    Biological Reserves

    1. Arenal
    2. The Cipresal
    3. The Pacayal
    4. Burned Monkey
    5. Mughal
    6. Rus Rus
    7. Sabanetas
    8. Saint Peter
    9. Saint Paul
    10. El Pital
    11. Cerro Pacayita Volcano
    12. Güisayote
    13. The crackpot
    14. Opalaca
    15. Misoc
    16. The Chile
    17. Yuscarán
    18. Good herb
    19. Guajiquiro
    20. Hills
    21. Uyuca
    22. Zapotillos Cays
    23. Bars of the Motagua River
    24. Wild Lagoon of Caratasca
    25. Between rivers
    26. Monserrat

    Forest reserves

    1. Guanaja
    2. Mocoron
    3. Flower Mountain (Anthropological Forest Reserve)
    4. Rio Tinto
    5. Olancho Forest Reserve
    6. Agalteca Forest Reserve
    7. El Cajon Resource Reserve
    8. Sierra de Omoa Protected Area
    9. El Jaconal El Higal Water Protection Area

    Marine Reserves

    1. Utila Marine Reserve
    2. Swan Islands

    Wildlife Refuges

    1. Turtle harbor
    2. Utila Keys
    3. Port Royal
    4. st. Helen
    5. Leather and Salty
    6. Erapuca
    7. Puca Mountain
    8. Mixcure
    9. Green Mountain
    10. Texiguat
    11. The Armed
    12. The wall
    13. Guaimoreto Lagoon
    14. Playpens

    Multiple Use Area

    1. Guanacaure Hill
    2. Carías Bermúdez
    3. Yojoa lake
    4. Tiger island

    Habitat / Species Management Area

    1. Chismuyo Bay
    2. San Lorenzo Bay
    3. Saint Bernard
    4. The Barbary
    5. Las Iguanas – Punta Condega
    6. The Delgaditos
    7. The Jicarito
    8. Honduran Emerald Hummingbird Species

    Water Production Area

    1. Danli
    2. The Merendon


    Natural monuments

    1. Boquerón Mountain
    2. Toco River
    3. Congolón and Coyocutena Hills
    4. Cayos Cochinos Archipelago
    5. Talgua Caves
    6. Taulabé Caves

    Cultural Monuments

    1. Copan Ruins
    2. Ruins of Tenampúa
    3. Petroglyphs of Ayasta
    4. Fortress of San Fernando de Omoa
    5. Ruins of the White City

    Botanical Garden

    1. Lancetilla Botanical Garden

    Caves and Caverns

    1. Giant’s Cave
    2. Warunta Cave
    3. Pencaligue Cave
    4. Masical Cave
    5. Cuyamel Cave
    6. El Boquerón Cave (Copán)
    7. White Stone Cave
    8. El Naranjo Cave
    9. Cave The Site
    10. Cerro Casque or Cosquin Cave

    Petrified Forests

    1. Ojo de Agua Petrified Forest
    2. Petrified Forest San Mateo
    3. Petrified Forest The Site


    1. Hill of the Screws
    2. Hills of Los Cascos
    3. Cerro Nevada
    4. Yustina Hills – Ceran

    Waterfalls, Grottoes and Mines

    1. Pulhapanzak Falls
    2. Anchovy
    3. Punta Caxina
    4. Hell Portal
    5. River of the Giants
    6. Grotto of Ayasta
    7. Grotto of Yaguasire
    8. Obsidian Mines
  • Leer versión en Español