September 15 – Independence Day

  • Leer versión en Español
  • On September 15, 1821, the Act of Independence of the United Provinces of Central America was signed. During the colonial period Honduras belonged to the Viceroyalty of New Spain.

    After three centuries of colonization, a group of provinces came together to form the United Provinces of Central America to fight together for their Independence. These were made up of: Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua and Costa Rica.

    On February 23, 1821, Mexico managed to emancipate itself from the Spanish yoke, an act that inspired Hondurans to accelerate their independence, which took place on September 15, 1821, with the signing of the Independence Act written by José Cecilio del Valle. However, the joy and celebration for having conquered freedom lasted a year, since in 1822 the United Provinces of Central America joined the Empire of Mexico.

    Union that lasted until 1823. Every December 15 the Independence of Honduras is commemorated, with commemorative acts where political leaders and society in general participate. Honduran families also raise the National Flag in their homes, the streets are adorned with flags and balloons with the colors of the Nation.

  • Leer versión en Español